Magic Penny

It’s been ten years, ten years since I said “I do” for a second time.

The first time I said “I do” I was 19 years old and ready to start my life with Randy as married grown ups. We still had three years of college left, no belongings, just our clothes, a broken dresser  a waterbed, and little money. We were going to live on love, well hard work and love. In 17 years we had three children to raise  and one in heaven. We moved across country and built a big beautiful house and at a peaceful content time  in our marriage Randy’s heart stopped suddenly and he died in his sleep. My heart stopped suddenly and I wondered if it would start again. It started.  It had to. Randy and I did not work as hard as we did to love each other, to be happy with each other, to walk through so much together for us both to stop living.

I threw myself into raising my three children the way Randy and I had planned, my walk with God and raising my children were my number one priority. Then a phone call came. My high school twentieth reunion was just around the corner and would I be traveling to Montana to attend? The call was from Tim. I remembered him, he was voted class clown of our class (I was voted reckless driver), took my best friend to the Senior Prom, and I remembered him being a nice guy. I went. He sat with me and my girls at the BBQ. We found out we lived 20 minutes from each other back in Washington State and what do you know, he was still a bachelor.

He asked if I would like to bring the kids out on his boat when we returned to Washington, he asked me if the kids and I would like to go to the State Fair, he asked me if I would like to go to dinner. I asked him if he would like to go to church with me, I asked him if he would like to spend Christmas with me and Randy’s family, I asked him if he would like to come to Lily’s ballet recital, and after several years of asking each other to share the simple things in life with each other he asked me if I would marry him, he asked the children if they would be his family…  Today, ten years ago, we said yes.

I am often overwhelmed that he picked me, with all of my issues, with an angry teen aged boy, a special needs daughter, a little one my mother liked to refer to as “Tiger Lily”, he picked us to spend the rest of his life with. He chose us to love.

Days before our wedding, Lily asked me, “If you love Tim, does that mean you don’t love Daddy anymore?”

I told Lily, “When Zack was born I didn’t think I could love any one as much as I loved the little baby. When I held him, my heart hurt with love and I didn’t think I could ever love another child like I loved him. Then Dona May was born and I loved her with all my heart! I didn’t take love from Zack, my heart grew with more love, then came you Lily and I smiled because I felt my heart growing with more love, and I still had the same amount of love for Zack and Dona May. And that is how I have come to love Tim, my heart has grown with more love. I did not take my love from your Daddy, I love him with all my heart, but my heart has grown even more because I love Tim.”

The amazing magic of true love is, the more you allow yourself to give and the more you allow yourself to receive, the more your heart grows with love!

                          Love is Something

Love is something if you give it away,
Give it away, give it away.
Love is something if you give it away,
You end up having more.

It’s just like a magic penny,
Hold it tight and you won’t have any.
Lend it, spend it, and you’ll have so many
They’ll roll all over the floor.

For love is something if you give it away,
Give it away, give it away.
Love is something if you give it away,
You end up having more.

Money’s dandy and we like to use it,1
But love is better if you don’t refuse it.
It’s a treasure and you’ll never lose it
Unless you lock up your door.

For love is something if you give it away,
Give it away, give it away.
Love is something if you give it away,
You end up having more.

Malvina Reynolds 1949

Leave a Reply

